7-10 November 2019

Hotel Grand Chancellor,
Hobart, Tasmania

Patrick Pritzwald-Stegmann Cardiothoracic Young Achievers Award

This Award is open to ANZSCTS trainees only. To be considered for the Award, ANZSCTS trainees must submit an abstract for verbal presentation at the 2019 ANSCTS ASM and request to be considered for the Award at the time of abstract submission. The application must be the first author of the abstract. Applicants selected by the Organising Committee for verbal presentation will be scheduled to present their paper at the 2019 ANZSCTS ASM. ANZSCTS trainees presenting at this meeting will be considered for the Award. The recipient will be announced at the conclusion of the meeting. Only one such award is granted.

Franklin Rosenfeldt Award

The Franklin Rosenfeldt Award for Cardiac and Thoracic Surgical Research is a new award from Heart, Lung and Circulation, the peer-reviewed journal of ANZSCTS and the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSANZ).

Named in honour of the Journal’s founding Editor-in-Chief and cardiac and thoracic surgeon, Franklin Rosenfeldt, the Award recognises innovation in clinical research in the field of cardiac and thoracic surgery.

The award will go to the most innovative original article with Australian and New Zealand cardiac and thoracic surgical authorship published in a print edition of Heart, Lung and Circulation in 2019, as judged by the Award Committee.

Heart, Lung and Circulation is honoured to have Franklin Rosenfeldt as one of the judges on the committee for this Inaugural Award, alongside contemporary journal editors Andrew Cochrane, Alistair Royce, Salvatore Pepe, and Editor-in-Chief Robert Denniss.
Heart, Lung and Circulation looks forward to announcing & presenting the award at an event at the ANZSCTS Annual Scientific Meeting, 7-10 November, 2019.

The Award-winning paper will be made freely accessible for one year on the journal’s website (www.heartlungcirc.org), courtesy of Elsevier.